If you have been a Vegan all your life then I am sure you know of all these foods. But if, like me, you are a “New Age Vegan” then we are learning all the time.
So here is a list of some real comfort foods that are actually Vegan.
- Crumpets. Can you believe it? A lovely toasted crumpet covered in vegan butter and your favourite jam. Yum.
- Oreos. Yes, Oreos are vegan.
- Fig Rolls. I love these, try dunking them in your tea. Could even be one of your 5 a day? (I doubt it!).
- Fry’s Chocolate Cream. I remember having these. They stopped making them for a while but now they’re back, fab.
- Most cake mixes are Vegan but the instructions will ask for you to add the eggs and milk. Add soya milk to replace the milk and a teaspoon of baking powder and a 1/2 tablespoon of soya milk to replace each egg. If it requires butter then that is easily replaced with a vegan butter.
- Peanut butter.
- Turkish Delight, check the labeling as some makes use gelatin.
- Jacobs Cream Crackers.
- Baked beans. The ultimate comfort food for me is baked beans on toast, delish!
- Skittles. These used to be coloured with cochineal but not any more.
- Most fresh bread will be vegan but it is best to check with the baker.
- Most pringles and tortilla chips are vegan.
- Doughnuts. Yes, I said doughnuts are vegan. (Except the custard ones). Always check the packaging.
- Ginger Nuts, one of my all time favourites for dunking. There’s a skill to dunking ginger nuts as they are quite a hard biscuit and you have to hold them in the hot tea a bit longer, but you’ll get it with practice.
- Treacle Tart. Mr Kipling makes a delicious treacle tart and it’s vegan. It’s so easy to make at home too. Just line a pie dish with vegan pastry , prick with a fork and part cook it in the oven for 15 mins, (180degrees), then fill with a mixture of golden syrup and fresh breadcrumbs and pop it back in the oven for another 15 mins.
- Walker’s crisps, check the packaging on the flavoured ones.
- The Old El Paso Fajita Dinner Kit is vegan and works well along with a nice home made veggie chilli.
- You know when you have a coffee in a small coffee shop and they pop those lovely Speculoos biscuits on the saucer. Well they are so delicious I always imagined that they would be full of butter so would never eat them, (much to John’s delight as he would eat mine as well as his own), well I have just found out that they are actually vegan…..so happy….sorry John.
Remember labels are often poor and that means it’s difficult to make a judgement. I always say, if the label says vegetarian or vegan and you can’t see any dairy or egg listed in the ingredients, it’s probably vegan. But look out for gelatin, as that can be made from bones. If it says pectin then you are usually alright.